Universal Access To All Knowledge
Home Donate | Store | Blog | FAQ | Jobs | Volunteer Positions | Contact | Bios | Forums | Projects | Terms, Privacy, & Copyright
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload

Reply to this post | Go Back
View Post [edit]

Poster: rdenirojb87 Date: Nov 9, 2011 6:13pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Feedback Request On My First Review

I just decided to write my first review of a full show, and would like a bit of feedback before I spend any more time writing about the 2nd half of the show. I wanted to do a full review on the 11-20, for TDIH in '73. Before I do so, I just want to make sure my efforts aren't wasted because I'm writing the review to give that show the recognition it greatly deserves.

Be kind. It's my first attempt to really review a show. Critiques are welcome, just don't be a dick about it! Here goes:

Denver Coliseum - 1973-11-20

http://www.archive.org/details/gd1973-11-20.sbd-patched.sirmick.76616.sbeok.flac16

Set 1:
Ramble On Rose
Mexicali Blues
Don't Ease Me In
Black Throated Wind
Brown Eyed Women
Beat It On Down The Line
To Lay Me Down
The Race Is On
They Love Each Other
Me And Bobby McGee
Tennessee Jed
Big River
Row Jimmy
Weather Report Suite Prelude
Weather Report Suite Part
Let It Grow
Casey Jones


Ramble On Rose:
The perfect way to open up this beauty of a show. The '73 treatment works magnificently on ROR. The first 3 and a half minutes are played flawlessly. Jerry sweetly eases into the solo at 3:32, and demonstrates his wonderful phrasing, which differs greatly from the '72 sound they were coming out of.. Take note of 3:35 – 3:39 for instance. Listen to that same part of the song in almost any other year, and you will hear a small flurry of notes from Jerry. In this example, Jerry takes several long seconds in between notes, letting the other instruments fill the gap very nicely. Jerry's change in phrasing is also noticeable in his side projects in '73. Phil adds some nice touches to this version as well. His choice of notes around 5:17, 5:30, and 5:42 are just perfect. Outstanding version.
A+

Mexicali Blues:
One of those tunes that doesn't change much over time. A strong version nonetheless, and Jerry's solo is another example of how he's not as up front as in previous years, and lets the other band members be more present in the overall sound.
A-

Don't Ease Me In:
Same story with Jerry's solos on this one. Keith and Jerry and both leading the way, with the solid backbone of PhilBill. Not much else to note. Tight playing though.
A-

Black Throated Wind:
Bob's guitar and voice sound great on this one. Many times he over accentuated his vocals, but they are just exactly perfect here. Even the refrain at the end, “GOIN, GOIN GOIN BACK HOME” is not overdone by Bob like it often was. I love Keith's piano at 2:36. It's one of those lovely little moments that really stands out to me. Phil is all over the place with special little moments like that on this song, with a few starting around 3:50. Solid effort.
A

Brown Eyed Women:
Very nice guitar work by Bob. I love this version. Everybody is locked in tight and contributing equally.
A

Beat It On Down The Line:
Very nice mini-solo that I found extremely enjoyable. Jerry and Keith are really jelling.
A

To Lay Me Down:
A really sweet version. What else would you expect from the honey year? Everyone's playing accentuates one another's. It's beautiful to listen to and closing your eyes makes it all the more better. It's a shame this song was only played 3 times in '73. The '73 sound is perfect for songs like these. Only 14 versions played prior to 1980, and this is one of the sweetest ones. Nice vocal harmonies. The band's vocals were very tight during this part of the year, which is very evident in this entire show. Excellent performance here.
A+

The Race Is On:
It sure is fun to listen to Phil's bouncy notes throughout. It's difficult to compare versions of this song, but this as good as any other I've heard. Keith sounds great on this one too.
A

They Love Each Other:
THE year for this song. I love the fun, laid-back, bouncy, feel-good vibe. Great rendition here. This is the first Jerry solo of the song that really jumps out at the listener. No subtle lead-in to the solo this time. Jerry's guitar is loud and upfront, leading the way with Keith's help. It's a joy to listen to. Listen to Jerry and Keith take it up a notch at 2:57, and really play off one another. 2:57 – 3:44 sizzles with creative energetic improv.
A+

Me And Bobby McGee:
I song I often skip, but I would never think of skipping over this one. A fine effort both music wise, and vocal wise, which is something that can't always be said about this song. Bob sounds as good as he's ever sounded on a Bobby McGee. 1:44 – 2:35 is golden.
A+

Tennessee Jed:
Keith really shines here. His best contribution to the show thus far. Jed is one of those songs perfectly suited for Keith's style. Some nice subtle touches from Bobby as well. From 3:32 – 3:50 is a another good example of the shift in the band's style. They play more like a small orchestra than a rock band. Someone plays a passage, leaves a musical gap, and lets it be filled by the accompaniment of the other instruments. This takes such incredible skill to effectively achieve considering that they're improvising, and they each have to work together as conductor of the orchestra. With Jerry's guitar solo as well, the guitar doesn't dominate the sound at all. He steps back and really allows the collective efforts of all the band members to work together. Wonderful effort.
A+

Big River:
Listen to Bobby sing and work the guitar together so well. Bob really matures as a musician in this period of time. He does some amazing stuff in '73, and some even better stuff in '74. The absence of Mickey allowed him to step up and be a more instrumental part in their sound. Excellent work here by Keith as well. Another perfectly suited song for him, which he never disappoints on.
A

Row Jimmy:
One of the staples of '73. You won't hear a poor version the whole year, and this is no exception. Fairly standard version, however the excellent instrument separation on the sound mix really allows one to appreciate the collective sound they were trying to achieve. Keith adds some nice touches to this version.
A

Weather Report Suite:
Simply magnificent! '73 has the best versions of WRS. The first 1:30 of instrumental playing contains some gorgeous, delicate playing. Once again, Bob's voice isn't overpowering in spots where it normally would be in other versions. Sometimes the over accentuated vocals are due in part to the sound mix, but even if Bob's vocals were bumped in this mix, I think they would still sound good.
A+

Let It Grow:
Coming out of an excellent WRS, it's no surprise that this LIG is stellar. More great vocals from Bob, with great sounding accompanying vocals as well. Jerry's licks are super sweet here too. Check him out from 2:54 – 3:24. Exquisite playing. After the next verse, Jerry takes things up a notch with some more upfront guitar-work like on the solo from TLEO. It works splendidly before they ease things down a notch. Listen to Keith take off around 6:18, which spurs Jerry to follow suit with some more bold, speedy licks. Jerry, Keith, and Phil simultaneously lead the way for the next few minutes in what is the real meat of the song. Bobby and Bill add some lovely color to the jam as well, particularly the latter part. This jam is worth listening 6 times to really appreciate. Listening to each instrument on it's own, and then hearing the collective effort, really lets one appreciate every subtle nuance. I just wish the jam went on a bit longer. Nevertheless, everybody shines on this song.
A+

Casey Jones:
Check out Bob's guitar playing here. He makes this version a special one. More sweet licks from Jerry too. Some lovely touches from Keith as well such as 2:58 – 3:02. He was such an integral part of the sound. Fun version here, and nice way to end the this superb first set.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: reviewr Date: Nov 12, 2011 7:35pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

I liked it. Just finished listening to 1st set while reading your review.

On one hand, I agree with others that there are too many "A"s. On the other hand, why not? It was a good night.

Look forward to your thoughts on Set 2.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: SomeDarkHollow Date: Nov 10, 2011 7:11am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

There are several different styles of show reviews. This one would fall into the detailed and thorough breakdown. Mine would fall into more of an off-the-cuff spewing of random and spontaneous mental and spiritual effluvium. I can certainly appreciate both approaches. Well done.

As for our good friend's "get a life" comment, I think that could just as well apply to anyone who spends more than 10 minutes a month in this place, that includes the author.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: rastamon Date: Nov 10, 2011 7:25am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

my reviews usually consist of "I really liked that show!"
or "it sucked" Simple reviews for simple minds - haha

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Jacky Hughes Date: Nov 10, 2011 1:49pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Life's just too flippin' short

I'm with you rastamon;

Ars longa, vita brevis

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Mandojammer Date: Nov 10, 2011 7:35am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

And in the end, that's what it all comes down to isn't it?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: adks12020 Date: Nov 10, 2011 1:18pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

I used to read reviews and then I realized that it doesn't really make sense to read reviews about the Grateful Dead on a Grateful Dead forum because they usually fit into a few useless categories:

1.) Way too much information - Obsessed Grateful Dead listeners (myself included) analyze way too much. I don't need to hear a note by note description of every single song from a four hour show...especially from people who often don't really know what they are talking about in a musical sense but try to pretend...just say whether you like it or not and maybe a short why.
2.) Often they make no sense..I'm sure you've all seen some of those..although for a while I was spreading around some choice nuggets from reviewers that apparently consumed far too much LSD as a joke between friends.
3.) (and this is probably the most common an annoying)...soooo many reviewers act is if the Grateful Dead were living gods that could do nearly no wrong. During the first couple years on this site I started listening to so many shows on this site that had amazing reviews and 5 stars that turned out to be just awful...I mean terrible.

So, to end this rant, keep it short and simple...maybe give a few highlights...any more than that and most people will tune out. A review should be an overall assessment with important details...not a blow by blow of the whole experience...

...and for god's sake don't review a show you took LSD at...I see that all the time...admit it..if you took LSD you had a great time or a terrible time and it probably didn't really matter what they played..at least if the doses were good.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: high flow Date: Nov 10, 2011 1:56pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

My mood, environment and alertness effect my opinions of live recordings(and movies and wine....etc.). So I feel I must listen to a show many times before writing a review. I want to be sure it wasn't just the excellent company or comfy room or good beer that shaped my opinion.

I give an accurate star rating and a brief comment.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: clementinescaboose Date: Nov 10, 2011 9:48pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

All to often I've made the mistake of over/underrating because of this! I try now to get know a show very well before I take the plunge...

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: elbow1126 Date: Nov 10, 2011 5:35pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

excellent company?!? Like we're supposed to believe that you have friends or that lovely wife of yours actually sits around and listens to music with you?

After reading this post 4 times, i give it 5 stars!!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: skuzzlebutt Date: Nov 10, 2011 1:31pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

I've got no problem with what you've written (my hat is off to you for even putting that much work in) but I tend to prefer the high level reviews that skim the highlights and focus on the overall flavor of the performance. For songs like "Don't Ease" I'm not sure I'd notice the difference between an A+ and D-. ;)

At least your reviews aren't the typical, indiscriminate designation of a five star rating, apparently based on the fact that the reviewer attended the show in question, got high, and shit his pants during "Bird Song"- an adventure which is usually described in much unnecessary detail. I loathe those.

This post was modified by skuzzlebutt on 2011-11-10 21:31:09

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: rdenirojb87 Date: Nov 10, 2011 9:59am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

Thank you all for the feedback thus far. I'll be cranking the 2nd half of the show while writing the rest of my review tomorrow at some point, and will post it for TDIH on the 19th, a day ahead of schedule.

Mr. D-Head “the lowest grade for any song is an A- and there are not too many of those. So - based on this, I would expect this show to be considered one of the great shows of all time.”

It's one of the great shows of '73. It's too difficult to compare it with all shows ever played. All I can say is you will thoroughly enjoy the show, and I believe the notes I made serve as a nice reference, which forces one to analyze the music more, and as a result it becomes even more enjoyable.


sleet & hail “I was a little confused before when you asked why the MLB jam was somewhat unsung. Note that the entire Truckin> MLB> Other One> Stella appears as filler on the Denver '73 Road Trips release.”

I wasn't aware of that, and haven't seen much talk about that segment on these boards, hence my comment. I ned to alter or axe the ratings system. I'll come up with something. It's tough to come up with an effective grading system.


Wussconsin “my one critique. Let me know how many beats they start BIODTL with. “

Cuatro is the numero you seek!

This post was modified by rdenirojb87 on 2011-11-10 17:59:13

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Administrator, Curator, or StaffNoiseCollector Date: Nov 10, 2011 1:42pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

I'd like to review the reviews of the review you made when I have a chance.

But in the mean time:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izXWyCEyoIg

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Mandojammer Date: Nov 10, 2011 6:35am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

I think reviewing a show in detail is very similar to posting notes after a scotch tasting. Most of it is a bunch of pedantic snobbery, bullshit that makes the writer feel good, and heavy handed, self-aggrandizing purple prose.

I am guilty of both......

So in the immortal words of John Hartford, "Keep on truckin'"

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: William Tell Date: Nov 10, 2011 9:53am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read "Reviews"?

"Most of it is a bunch of pedantic snobbery, bullshit that makes the writer feel good, and heavy handed, self-aggrandizing purple prose."

MOST??? WTF...all of my posts fall into this category. That little joke post about being the most self-congratulatory, full-of-himself author hereabouts was only somewhat funny because it was all true (about me).

Now, when it comes to science/philosophy/early era is better, I'd say most (not all) of what I write here is also the TRUTH, but this is beside the point--it's how it comes off, and the motivation, that matters, and you've hit the nail on the head.

Now, to the subject at hand: we've discussed this before, but really, can ANYONE truthfully say they read reviews by even acknowledged "greats" (Dr Flashback, CapnDD, Strat, few others) for more than a line or two? Or, that they contains any real information of note beyone the obvious if you listen to the show?

I've written five reviews in my lifetime here, and everyone is contrived, meaningless--forced even--drivel. I reviewed the shows that I like the most, explained them a bit, and then...stopped entirely because putting your comments in a review somehow seems all the more of an effort at self promotion, implying some significance beyond the usual post here at the Forum.

The only ones that have passing, momentary value, IMHO (this time it is) are the ones that are funny without meaning to be...

So, I know this will come off as an attack on the current posted--deniro--and for that I apologize in advance, but really, I'd like to know how many of you have spent any real time with reviews, and felt you got something out of the experience?

The only purpose they served, which was quite useful at the time for me, was to allow me to quickly sort 4-5 star shows from the rest (this usu meant "good quality sound", and as a "sound snob", I simply ignored the others).

Let me know how wrong I might be; of course, I will be shocked to find you've read this far as well...

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: rdenirojb87 Date: Nov 10, 2011 10:13am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

WT, I can't tell you how refreshing your perspectives always are. You never leave any avenue unexplored.

"can ANYONE truthfully say they read reviews by even acknowledged "greats" (Dr Flashback, CapnDD, Strat, few others) for more than a line or two?

I can, and I know I'm not alone. I'm a quick reader, and it hardly takes any time to read most reviews posted here. They typically are not too long, and I enjoy reading them sometimes.

"putting your comments in a review somehow seems all the more of an effort at self promotion, implying some significance beyond the usual post here at the Forum."

i can certainly see that. i don't think that's the intention of the majority though. in this instance, it's more of a promotion of a show i greatly enjoy, rather than a promotion of myself. i really don't plan to review many shows. certainly not ones that have dozens of reviews already.

"So, I know this will come off as an attack on the current posted--deniro--and for that I apologize in advance"

only a nitwit would see this as an attack. i'm not sure you have any fight left in you lol.

appreciate the comments. you raise good points, wise old man.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: bluedevil Date: Nov 10, 2011 11:00am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

I read every single word this guy writes and treasure each and every review - it's always good to know when to pick a DSO cover over a GD original:

http://www.archive.org/search.php?query=reviewer:%22jboyaquar%22

Unfortunately, I don't think he has lent his ear and keyboard to the greatest band ever, THE MAYKERS!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: SomeDarkHollow Date: Nov 10, 2011 11:51am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

"The pace is quite measured but it reflects the trepidation I feel when approaching anybody here whose view of me is as unpredictable as the slant of their eyes"

Move over Shakespeare, this dude means business.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: clementinescaboose Date: Nov 10, 2011 10:05pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'? - YES!

I will make no claims that my 'reviews' are not self-absorbed, idiotic nonsense! But that's mainly why I write them! Yes, certain ones are to get the word out to others who might not know about a classic hidden gem waiting to be unearthed, but many times my lame excuse for writing is just so I remember what I thought about and heard in a show, a week, a month or even a year ago, and how that perspective has changed or stayed the same. And 'cause I like to stoke my ego like...well, not gonna go there...

But I do get a lot out of others' reviews, and I do read many them all the way through (except direwolf600; as much as I respect the guys opinion, goddamn it's not a novella!) Though most reviews on here are pretty bad, like I said I find some of the reviewers to be very insightful. I like to compare what I hear/don't hear that they do, as well as my curiosity as to who shares/doesn't share my opinion about shows I find to be really hot, and why...something I've always found fascinating, I suppose...

This post was modified by clementinescaboose on 2011-11-11 06:05:10

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: unclejohn52 Date: Nov 10, 2011 10:48am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

Agree with the basic thrust... When I was a noob at the archive, I did read, or skimmed reviews, but soon realized that almost everyone was dishing 5 stars and most detractions were for sound quality, not performance, rendering most reviews meaningless. If i've landed on a show, it's usually due to somebody's rec - so I'll pay attention if somebody claims a particularly fine version of this or that. Hyperbole kills most reviews - how many "epic" versions of Wharf Rat are there? For me, none - they were great and stand alone, or they just WERE.

As fans, none of us are real critics - our bias is on display. (no Pauline Kaels among us.) The best reviews are short and sweet, noting the highlights. Song-by-song analysis is probably suited for a personal log - anything that long has meaning only to each listener.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: robthewordsmith Date: Nov 10, 2011 11:29am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

I never give reviews more than a cursory glance, if that. Pretty much without exception it's bland and unappetizing fare lacking any sort of critical or literary merit and far more likely to be highly coloured reminiscence rather than considered analysis.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: SomeDarkHollow Date: Nov 10, 2011 11:41am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

Pedantic snobbery? You should be so lucky.

As to reviews, I will oftentimes look for trusted reviewers and if they scored a show particularly high, or low, I may read further for details. But, like Rob has mentioned, the majority are written my folks who attended those shows and swear, by God, that was the most immense Day Job EVER!!!!! When I write my little thingies, I do it primarily for the fun of writing them, I guess it's more a form of entertainment than anything else. But I agree that as a whole reviews are basically fluff written for the pleasure of the writer, and the writer alone. And trust me, I've spent a great deal of time pleasuring myself here.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: robthewordsmith Date: Nov 10, 2011 12:06pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

A day lacking a few rocks chipped on the great highway or an item of hapless office furniture heading off into the splintered sunlight is a day that is incomplete.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: SomeDarkHollow Date: Nov 10, 2011 12:13pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

Can I get an Amen?

You tell 'em, brother.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: William Tell Date: Nov 10, 2011 11:54am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Sorry...does ANYONE actually read 'Reviews'?

It goes without saying that self pleasuring is your bread and butter; with a nod to Woody Allen..."your bread and various butters"?

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: utopian Date: Nov 10, 2011 7:38am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

Your gonna have to try harder. I'm gonna have to skim it again but please next time more cursing and titty references. Gotta keep it interesting.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: snow_and_rain Date: Nov 10, 2011 5:45am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

A nice, thorough review. I don't know how many you'll get through if you take the time to assign a grade to every song, but it's a nice touch.

PS - I was a little confused before when you asked why the MLB jam was somewhat unsung. Note that the entire Truckin> MLB> Other One> Stella appears as filler on the Denver '73 Road Trips release.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: wisconsindead Date: Nov 9, 2011 6:43pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

I really like what you've got. The critiques for each song along with grades are great. I think saying show A is great is far too general and breaking a show down by song helps see the gems for the gem, or something like that?

my one critique. Let me know how many beats they start BIODTL with.

Nice work.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: jerlouvis Date: Nov 9, 2011 8:29pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

Well done,to the point and informative.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: RBNW....new and improved! Date: Nov 10, 2011 6:10am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

get a life

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: portmcgroin Date: Nov 10, 2011 7:58am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

Nice job. Rating every song in the long run when you start to get into dift. decades may be a pain though. Like how do you compare a 69 china with a 74. Like how you give time references nice touch.

This post was modified by portmcgroin on 2011-11-10 15:58:18

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: clementinescaboose Date: Nov 10, 2011 9:41pm
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

I dig your review, man! I could only hope to write something this comprehensive and detailed...your descriptions of what is happening from moment to moment and how you hear it is very nice.

Just like add that I also really dig the WRS>LIG; there were indeed a ton of great jazzy versions in fall '73, and though this isn't the best of the bunch, I find it to be somewhat unique and well played.

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: RBNW....new and improved! Date: Nov 10, 2011 7:25am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

Sam with the showing scalp flat top,
Particular about the point it made.
(I got it . . . )
Why, when I was knee-high to a grasshopper,
This black juice came out on a hard shelled chin.
And they called that 'tobacco juice'.
I used to fiddle with my back feet music for a black onyx.
My entire room absorbed every echo.
The music was . . . thud like.
The music was . . . thud like.
I usually played such things as rough-neck and thug.
Opaque melodies that would bug most people.
Music from the other side of the fence.
A black swan figurine lay on all color lily pads.
On a little conglomeration table of pressed black felt.
With same color shadows, in seamed knobbed knees, and what-nots.
The long hallway rolled out into oddball odd.
Beside the fly-pecked black doorway,
That looked closed on the tar-lattice street.
Up a wrought iron fire escape.
Rolled out a tiny wooden platform with dark, hard, dark rubber wheels.
Roll, skreek! Roll, skreek! Roll, skreek!
Sam with the showing scalp flat top,
Particular about the point it made.

Sam was a BASKET CASE!
A hardened dark ivory clip held . . . saleable everyday pencils.
I wish I had a pair 'o bongos!
Bongo Fury!
Bongo Fury!
Oowwwww! Bongo Fury!
(Boogie!)
Bongo Fury!
Bongo Fury . . .
Bongo Fury . . .

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: deadhead53 Date: Nov 10, 2011 5:23am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

Hey rd, great job here. I think you reviewed it to the point and kept it about the music of that year. I agree about TLEO, I love the early versions of the song. Even though I am not a huge fan of Let It Grow i also agree with your review on it. Great show to start with!

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: Diamondhead Date: Nov 10, 2011 9:09am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

You did a fine job, but I never could do it. I'm more in the overview camp. And I will listen to it based on the fact that you say it's so wonderful. But here's my question - the lowest grade for any song is an A- and there are not too many of those. So - based on this, I would expect this show to be considered one of the great shows of all time. Is it? Or the greatest first set? In a month of the Winterland series and UCLA three days earlier, is this better? At least let us know how the rest of the book turns out. :)

Reply to this post
Reply [edit]

Poster: SomeDarkHollow Date: Nov 10, 2011 9:40am
Forum: GratefulDead Subject: Re: Feedback Request On My First Review

Good point. With so many shows and so many versions of the same song, it seems almost impossible to grade a single example fairly on such a limited scale (even moreso with the 5 star system here). I like Cliff's 100 point scale; gives a lot more room for marking the subtle difference between performances.

Terms of Use (31 Dec 2014)